A Living Commodity: CD + Signed Art Card


Release date: 27 October, 2023

This bundle contains:

  • A Living Commodity Signed Art Card
  • A Living Commodity: CD
Every element of Egyptian Blue’s fierce, uncompromising sound feels like hypnotism fuelled by psychosis. Their grinding riffs achieve a mesmeric power through brute repetition, while their rhythm section produces taut, nervous energy and intense post-punk grooves in equal measure.

Following on from their incendiary debut E. P’s; 2019’s ‘Collateral Damage’ & 2020’s ‘Body Of Itch’, the band garnered a fervent following and had support from key tastemakers across the media including Steve Lamacq, Jack Saunders, Tom Ravenscroft, NME and Fader.

In the intervening time they have been heralded by their peers as one of the best new bands in the country; IDLES frontman Joe Talbot describing them as “fucking sick’’ and picking them as his act of choice for the BBC Introducing stage at Glastonbury 2022Yannis Philippakis is another avowed super-fan, personally choosing Egyptian Blue as support for Foals’ run of arena shows in the UK & Europe during their Life Is Yours tour run.

The band have now re-appeared following an extended period of writing and recording their highly anticipated debut album ‘’A Living Commodity’’, due for release on 27th October 2023 via YALA! Records, the label co-founded by former Maccabee Felix White and home to releases from acts including The Magic Gang, YAK, The Homesick, FEET,  Whenyoung, Talkshow, Seraphina Simone and Willie J Healey.

With a new clarity of vision fully formed during the extended hiatus of 2-years of pandemic enforced delays, ‘’A Living Commodity’’ represents a dynamic artistic shift from Egyptian Blue and showcases in full the scale and ambition of their songwriting.

The first teaser of new music came in the form of ‘Geisha’; a psyche-tinged punk attack driven by Luke Phelps propulsive bass combined with Isaac Ide’s tight percussion, underpinned by dual frontmen Andy Buss & Leith Ambrose jagged guitar playing adding to the angsty and foreboding lyrics with Buss professing  ‘’I live for only you’’ making a magnetising collage of sounds.

The accompanying Jonathan Waller directed video adding a fitting visual to this standout track – Watch HERE

Recent release ‘Matador’ HERE and current single ‘Skin’ HERE; showcase EB’s staple high intensity guitar band dynamics but with a new sonic dimension that calls to mind Kid A-era Radiohead, early Interpol and Gang Of Four.

Andy Buss and Leith Ambrose formed Egyptian Blue in their late teens, they’re the type of people you expect to find in an essential new band: two lifelong friends who share a seemingly telepathic connection.

Now, finally, after pouring all their collective creative energies into creating a meticulous debut album in ‘’A Living Commodity’’ that showcases an undeniable new ambition, hunger and dimension; Egyptian Blue are poised and ready to pick up their mantle as one of the best new guitar bands in the UK.

1.    Matador
2.    Nylon Wire
3.    Belgrade Shade
4.    Skin
5.    In My Condition
6.    A Living Commodity
7.    Apparent Cause
8.    Suit Of Lights
9.    To Be Felt
10.    Contain It
11.    Geisha